Frequently asked questions about Go rules and other stuff
Some questions come up repeatadly (and quite naturally) when one is learning the game. If you are not sure about some situation, chances are you will find your answer below. You can link to any particular answer just by opening it up and then sharing the URL.
Questions about rules
As you probably gathered - it does not work like that (otherwise everyone would be doing it).
As discussed in chapter 5
a stone that cannot survive is counted as a prisoner anyway
(even if it remains on the board). Unless the stone is threatening some real harm or capture, your opponent can in fact just ignore the move and get +1 extra point for the prisoner you just gave him. If you then want to argue the stone is alive the game position may be played out, but the score is then counted from the original position after the two passes, not the played out version.
Questions about history and traditions
Questions about learning
Let me get back to this one later